FFA Banquet (photos)

14:06 PM April 25, 2018

The PLT FFA Chapter held it annual banquet on Sunday afternoon in the high school gym. A potluck lunch was enjoyed followed by an awards program.
The chapter continues to grow with the group boasting 35 members this year.   Six seniors, Dena Johnson, Hailey Mickelson, Logan Henrekin, Payton Gerlach, Aaron Wetzell, and Ashley Cooney, were honored and retired their FFA jackets.
Highlights included honoring State Degree recipients Ross Cady and Mickelson. The state degree is the highest level that can be reached by a member on the state level.  The requirements are very rigorous and only a small percentage of members state wide receive the award. They will receive their honor at the state convention in June.
 Another chapter highlight was Mickelson winning the State Agriculture Education Proficiency Award.  The award is one given among 45 categories that are awarded at the state level for FFA. the honor is given based on her work done during her SAE (Supervised Agricultural Experience). The experience consists of working in an Ag related field where students are "able to consider multiple careers and occupations, learn expected workplace behavior, develop specific skills within an industry, and are given opportunities to apply academic and occupational skills in the workplace or a simulated workplace environment. Through these strategies, students learn how to apply what they are learning in the classroom as they prepare to transition into the world of college and career opportunities." (National FFA Website)

Mickelson advanced to the state level after placing first at the section and district levels. She is now eligible for a national award.



Greenhand Degree Recipients: Emily Brooks, Mackenzie Glassburn, Ashtynn Forward, Rubey Gallentine, Max Jones, Cheyenne Wiemken, Madison Orlando, Ross Purvis,
Gabe Bohms, Victoria Donaldson, Jasmyn VanHorn, Luke Wetzell
Star Greenhand: Emily Brooks
Chapter Degree Recipients: Brady Abell, Cameron Abell, Gavin Alden, Amy Davis, Mackenzie Foy, Clayton Johnson, Hunter Oleson, Grant Minssen, Tyler Smith
Honorary Chapter Degree: Mr. Josh Johnson
State Degree Recipients: Ross Cady, Hailey Mickelson 
American Degree Recipient: Mikeila Sanders
Learning to do (Freshman): Cheyenne Wiemkin
Doing to Learn (Sophomore): Mack Foy
Earning to Live (Junior): Willie Cochran
Living to Serve (Senior): Hailey Mickelson
Out of the Box Award: Ashtynn Forward
Blue & Gold Award: Logan Henrekin
E.M. Tiffany Leadership Award: Tyler Smith

Newly elected officers:

Grant Minssen-President

Mack Foy-Vice President

Emily Brooks-Secretary

Makenzie Glassburn-Treasurer

Ashtynn Forward-Reporter

Clayton Johnson-Sentinel



More like this:

Photo Gallery

Share this story:

Leave a Comment